So I haven’t posted for a while.  Doesn’t mean I wasn’t drinking any coffee.  Otherwise I’d probably be dead.  So here are some highlights on where I’ve been and how things added up…

 Took a trip up to Middletown probably July-ish, walked around Main Street..  My sister brought me there to try Klekolo World Coffee, which was a really cool-looking uber-trendy cafe up there.  Loved the atmosphere and concept, but the cappuccino I had was poorly constructed, both in milk and espresso.  Down the street we stopped into Java Palooza, which had a 50’s-esque jukebox type decor, and my cappuccino there was pretty good for Connecticut.  

Been to SoNo Caffeine a few times in the past few months, sometimes good, sometimes bad (and sometimes they cinnamon cappuccinos without asking, perhaps an attempt to dress up a sub-par drink).  BUt since Caffeine is the best of what is nearby, I usually don’t have much choice.  Almost all these CT cafes have a microfoam disability.

Been to NYC a few times, this is where the real coffee is.  Grumpy and Gimme are always excellent, as is a host of other places.  There’s also a cafe near Gimme that I can’t remember the name of that had a pretty good cappuccino for a place that specializes in pastries and desserts, but next time I’m in that neighborhood I’ll see if I can find it again.  A friend and I walked in with our Gimme drinks (since Gimme has no sitting area) and had some desserts there with our coffees, and they insisted that they make a better cappuccino, so gave us two of theirs on the house.  Good people.

Been meaning to pop over to Port Coffeehouse in Black Rock for a while, and also to spend more time in New Haven, but have been a bit busy in recent months.  Later this winter and spring I’ll be having more coffee-based road trips.  One sad bit of news is that Bare Beans in New Haven is shutting down soon… Mark had some nice cuppings there, and the place will be missed.  I had my fingers crossed for that place.  We need a more good microroasters in Southeast CT.

There have been many other places I’ve hit, but that is what sticks out in my mind right now, and it is early on a Monday morning.  If something else rears it’s head in my memory, maybe I’ll mention it.  But I’ll probably hit all those places again, especially due to the shortage in cafes up here.  There’s an infestation of DD’s and *$’s.  Pretty sad.